Homemade Laundry Detergent

After looking at many, many recipes for homemade laundry detergent, I’ve settled on this one.

  • 1 bar  Fels Naptha
  • 1 cup Borax
  • 1 cup Arm and Hammer Washing Soda

The recipe can be doubled, tripled or whatever you can store.  I made a double batch last night.  The bar of Fels Naptha and the Washing Soda were found at Kroger on the detergent aisle.  The Borax is usually found at Wal-Mart on the detergent aisle also.  I used my cheese grater to grate the bar of soap and I store it in an empty oats container.  I keep a 1/4 cup scoop in there to measure for each load.  That amount seems to work the best with my front loading machine on a regular sized load.  I use less or more depending on the size of the load.  Just mix by rotating the container.  VERY EASY!

This is not a “sudsy” detergent.  It really cleans but without a lot of suds.  It smells great, too.  I think my cost for each load is about 13 cents!

I’m trying the soap on some grass stains today and will see how that works compared to my Shout stick.

For my automatic dishwasher, I’ve been using just plain Borax to clean the dishes.  I put a tablespoon or so into the dispenser.  Mix a little bit of water into it and then start as usual.  The only drawback is that I wait until the rinse cycle and pour some vinegar into the bottom of the washer.  If I don’t do that, I end up with a white, cloudy residue on the glasses.  I’ll try putting the vinegar into the rinse aid dispenser soon and that should work better.  My dishes are really a lot cleaner.  And it ‘s cheaper.

About mkcmom

I'm a typical southern gal with two boys (ages 8 and 14) to raise and a husband to partner with against whatever the world throws at us each day.
This entry was posted in Misc. Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. Young Wife says:

    Thanks for sharing. I’m going to try making the laundry detergent.

  2. Pingback: Homemaking « A Young Wife’s Tale

Leave a Reply

